Happy 6th Birthday Hannah

SONY DSC

This time last year – around the time of Hannah’s 5th Birthday – I used a poem on the blog by Nancy Tillman to sum up everything I wanted to say and this year I’m doing the same.

If you haven’t read any of Nancy’s stuff before, I’d recommend you go check her out…her words and books are simply beautiful.

Nancy wraps the words up in sumptuously soft silk bows, sprinkles them with fairy dust and articulates the love a parent has for their child FAR better than I could ever aspire to do.

So, as you’ll have guessed by the post title, my baby girl will be 6 years old – next week!

Eek!

How the time has flown by!

And whilst there’ve been many highs and low’s during this time, what’s been consistent throughout is the bliss that she’s brought to my life…and maybe a few grey/white hairs and LOTS of worry lines too (but we won’t go into that right now! *wink*)

No day ever goes by without me being thankful and feeling really blessed that she’s here and that I’ve been entrusted to care for her.

And if ever there was a poem to sum up how I feel right now and what I want to say to Hannah in this post, then the one below is probably it.

I still live in hope that one day Hannah will be able to read my posts and letters to her, understand them and know how much she is loved by her mama. But even if that time never comes, I’ll still continue to write, in some form or other…because it helps, it really helps.

Hannah still appears to have little (if any) concept of birthdays or other occasions, which tugs at my heart SO much (I can’t begin to tell you how much that hurts), however, that doesn’t deter us from helping her to celebrate her special day…even though those memories of 6 years ago, for me, are somewhat bittersweet.

So, I want to say thank you to Nancy for sharing her beautiful words…and thank you to my girl: my enchanting little mouse, my gentle spring rain – for showing me what’s actually important in life and teaching me the true meaning of unconditional love.

Over to Nancy…

 

“Wherever You Are: My Love Will Find You

 

By Nancy Tillman

 

I wanted you more

than you ever will know

so I sent love to follow

wherever you go.

It’s high as you wish it. It’s quick as an elf.

You’ll never outgrow it…it stretches itself!

 

So climb any mountain…

climb up to the sky!

My love will find you.

My love can fly!

 

Make a big splash! Go out on a limb!

My love will find you. My love can swim!

 

It never gets lost, never fades, never ends…

 

If you’re working…

Or playing…

Or sitting with friends.

You can dance ‘til you’re dizzy…

Paint till you’re blue…

There’s no place, not one,

That my love can’t find you.

And if someday you’re lonely,

Or someday you’re sad,

Or you strike out at baseball,

Or think you’ve been bad…

Just lift up your face, feel the wind in your hair.

That’s me, my sweet baby, my love is right there.

In the green of the grass…in the smell of the sea…

In the clouds floating by…at the top of a tree…

In the sound crickets make at the end of the day…

“You are loved. You are loved. You are loved” they all say.

 

My love is so high, and so wide and

So deep, it’s always right there, even

When you’re asleep.

 

So hold your head high

And don’t be afraid

To march to the front

Of your own parade.

 

If you’re still my small babe

Or you’re all the way grown,

My promise to you

Is you’re never alone.

 

You are my angel, my darling,

My star…and my love will find you,

Wherever you are.

 

You are loved.”

 

Happy 6th Birthday my darling girl.

I’m SO overwhelmingly proud of you and all that you’ve achieved so far – no matter where it takes us, we’re on this journey together – onwards and upwards, kiddo!

You’re my world, the greatest teacher of life and love, you’ve helped me be stronger than I ever imagined I could be and your beautiful smile lights up even the darkest of days.

You’re a truly inspiring, special little girl.

Thank you just for being you.

You have my heart and my love eternally…

…and it’s a love like no other!

Mummy xxx

 

Beautiful photo courtesy of our very talented, award winning friend Janet Broughton Photography.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy 6th Birthday Hannah

  1. Wow !! This brought tears to my eyes, Nancy’s words and yours x

    A massive happy birthday to Hannah, I can’t believe she’s soon to be six !!

  2. Heidi says:

    Beautiful! I’m welling up over here!!! As mum to another amazing girl born with a difference, this post really chimes with me. My girl had taught me to become kinder, more adaptable, to accept that not everything had to bend to my will, or be ‘just so’, and even more, she has made me in complete awe of her. The challenges that she rises up to meet each and every day, dwarf the petty things that I often had a habit of whinging about! Thanks for reminding me of all those things, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY HANNAH 💕

    • Thank you Heidi. If it’s any consolation, I well up every single time I read this poem. Note to self: MUST stop reading it at some point! It’s true though, no-one could ever teach someone about this perspective on life until they themselves become parent to a magical child like ours…life is very different; sometimes SO challenging that you think your heart will never stop aching, but equally, overwhelmingly beautiful at times. Much love to you and yours xx

  3. bumbismom says:

    Absolutely beautiful birthday tribute!

Leave a Reply

