Two words…

Two words

Well my lovelies, I’m guessing that this may be my last post of the year.

On the other hand, it might not.

But just in case it is and before the internet goes a bit fuzzy because everyone’s using the web and wishing Seasons Greetings to their friends and family or playing on their new ipad/iphone/other gadget, I thought I’d get in there a bit early.

So, Season’s Greetings to you all!

Right, that’s me done then………..bye! *flounces off*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am totally kidding!

 

 

You didn’t seriously think I’d just write that and then flounce off, did you?

 

 

As you may already be aware, I’m notorious for writing rather, ahem *clears throat* lengthy posts.

So, I’m probably not going to get away with just that, am I?

Doh!

Plus, I’ve got the unreliable and painfully slow laptop up and running now (Apple inc, if you’d like to provide me with one of your lovely laptops, I’d be very grateful! *raises eyebrows at shameless and useless plea*) and have a little bit of free time (FREE TIME!!!!!), so it’d be a shame not to waffle on for a bit longer.

You see, I have two choices here; either talk to you (most definitely the best choice) or make attempts to clean the house and do some ironing…so, there’s no contest really is there?

I’m not always a ‘waffler’ though. If you met me, you may just assume that I’m as non-verbal as Hannah is; but that’s because sometimes I’m a bit shy, I enjoy listening to other people (although not always!), I like observing what’s going on and am quite happy taking a back seat, plus, nowadays, on occasion, I think I’ve become a little bit socially inept.

It’s likely that my experiences/life over the last 6 years, may have contributed to my inability to make small talk.  But I’m not complaining.

I can talk to and about Hannah all day and every day, until the cows come home.  I can also talk in acronyms; much like my other special needs mamas and daddies can do, no doubt; like IEP’s, EHCP’s, ADD/ADHD, SPD, SVC’s, GDD, EP’s, CdLS, LD.  Oh the list is endless!…and a bit tiresome, tbh.

But then sometimes, just like Hannah, I appear to be in my own little world, with my own thoughts.  I just wander off somewhere in my head.

It’s quite nice really.

And then at other times, you just can’t shut me up…pretty much like I am on this blog!

(Psychologists would probably have a field day analysing me!)

Anyway, enough of the waffling…you’ve probably got far more important stuff to do right now.  After all, Christmas is just around the corner!

Before I continue though, please let me stress that these ‘two words’ (see title above) are very apt…and meant for you all individually and collectively…and they’re extremely heartfelt.

So here’s the two words…

Are you ready?

…don’t get too excited, those two words aren’t “book deal” (sadly!) or “I’m moving” (to Cornwall, obvs!) or…

OH, JUST GET ON WITH IT ANNIE AND STOP SHILLY-SHALLYING LIKE YOU USUALLY DO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh, OK then, those two words are:

THANK YOU!

(There’s the two words, btw)

 

And here’s the part where I waffle on a bit more…

Once upon a time (well, just over 2 years ago, actually) I fancied having a ‘bash’ at blogging, because I felt like I had stuff to share.  Because I wanted to make a tiny bit of difference to other people (or at least one person) who had just started out on their own journey similar to ours and because (selfishly) I thought it’d help me as I could use it as a cathartic exercise and also for a whole host of other reasons.

So, thanks to our friend Janet (the brilliant photographer), she encouraged me to get cracking and have a bash – initially on her website, then, because my post was so successful, she set me up on my own.

Eek!

And now that almost 2 years have passed and despite not writing as often as I’d like, I’m pretty sure I’ve already accomplished all (and more) that I initially set out to achieve.  I know I’ve made a bit of a difference to someone’s life and I know I’ve spread a little bit of enlightenment across the world too.

…and that makes me feel extremely chuffed….

…and a little bit tearful too.

In a good way, obvs!

Then, in January 2015, I set up a Facebook page which linked to the blog. (I did it all on my own and it took almost 2 hours!!!!!!!!!!! – how utterly rubbish am I?).

And quite quickly and very surprisingly, all these lovely people who I’d mostly never met before, began to join us on our journey.

…and what a journey it’s been this year!

We’ve had ups and we’ve had downs.  Downs that I never in a million years imagined would happen like they did.

But that’s life, isn’t it?

It sneaks up on us sometimes and bites us on the derriere when we least expect it.

…and I’ve been bitten pretty hard this year….and it hurt…and those scars will remain with me forever.

But I can’t dwell on that too much and I know the loved ones I’ve lost wouldn’t want me to dwell on it either.

I have a life to get on with and a precious little girl to take care of.

So, this post, ‘two words’ i.e. thank you, is a message for all of you who’ve joined us on our journey over the last two years and here’s the reason(s) why I’m saying it…

  • Thank you for….reading, commenting and sharing and just generally being fabulous and supportive.  Facebook is usually a place where people share campaigns or music or recipes or post pictures of cute kittens dressed up in some stupid Santa outfit (why, WHY?!!), or send cryptic messages to boys they fancy, or pretend that they’re having an utterly magnificent life ALL. OF. THE. TIME *yawn* or share their selfies (that’ve probably taken a good couple of hours to get ready for) *double yawn*.  My posts aren’t ordinarily ‘mainstream’ Facebook material that would appeal to the masses, I get that, but that isn’t my aim anyway.  Most people wouldn’t be particularly interested in sharing blogs like mine…where some woman rabbits on about her and her child’s life, discusses the plights of glitter poo (LOVE that post – even though I wrote it) or how she nearly fell off the sofa when her child signed ‘Dog’.  So I thank you enormously for taking an interest and getting involved.

 

  • Thank you for…sending me those much needed virtual hugs when I really needed it the most.  You reached out to me during a very dark and incredibly stressful time and I’ll never forget that.  It’s often difficult to know what to say sometimes when people are hurting…but you didn’t shy away, and I’m so grateful. I’ve learned a lesson this year that almost mirrors the time when Hannah was born; in that, the people who you might have anticipated being there for you aren’t there in times of need, but then other people come along and surprise you with their genuine concern for your wellbeing by reaching out.  A huge thank you goes out to all of you, but especially to Barbara from Boston.  Your message came at exactly the right time.

 

  • Thank you for…celebrating all Hannah’s achievements. For some of you, I know, the things I’ve shared may not seem massive.  I get that, I really do.  However in our world, they’re humongous and even if you couldn’t really grasp the enormity of those achievements, I thank you for just trying to understand by sending those likes and messages through Facebook.

 

  • Thank you for…your messages of congratulations (and faith in me – no pressure then! *gulp*) when I was welcomed onto the Board of Directors at Rainbow House.  As you’ll probably know, I’ve always been incredibly fond of this Charity and for the experiences it’s given Hannah. It feels pretty awesome to be given the opportunity to contribute to something which has been a lifeline for us as a family and to many, many others like us.  I’m absolutely chuffed to bits! (For our friends across the world “Hello!”, that means I’m exceedingly happy).

 

  • Thank you for…all those shares and comments when Hannah’s boot went AWOL.  We reached over 12,000 people in about 48 hours through Facebook via 117 shares! How utterly bonkers is that? Whilst it could’ve just been perceived as a cute little boot (that could’ve been replaced) you sent a message out there that the boots were more than just that; they also contributed to supporting the mobility of a little girl who needs some help getting around.  I’ve never experienced anything like that before and may never do again but it felt like everyone in the north of England (and much farther afield) were out and about scouring for it. Thanks especially go to Peter who messaged Doc Martens Facebook page, told them of our plight and asked for another pair (they weren’t forthcoming, btw), but it didn’t matter because thankfully we found the boot (yay!) and it was returned to its rightful owner.

 

  • Thank you for…laughing with me.  Life isn’t always doom and gloom (although if you’d have said that to me a few months ago, I’d have disagreed); often (get ready, a cliché’s about to be cited) life is what you make it or how you perceive it, but if I didn’t share some of the gloominess, then it wouldn’t be a true reflection of our life.  So I share it…warts and all, laughter and tears. However, I’m hopeful that all of 2016’s posts will be completely devoid of any gloominess!

 

It feels like “Thank you” isn’t quite enough for all of this support really. But that’s all I can offer you right now.

Although, there are a whole host of other “two words” that are apt that I can think of, like…

You’re wonderful. Utterly fabulous. Extremely supportive. Very kind.

And to all you people across the globe who’ve popped by and read my blog (and there’ve been a lot of you – we’re just short of reaching 12,000 views!), I’ve done a bit of googling (so if it’s wrong, just blame google, not me) I want to say…..Ta, thanks, cheers, danke, gracias, shukran, Tak, Kiitos, Efharisto, Go raibh maith agat, Grazie, Mersi, Obrigado, Spasibo, Tack, Tesekkur ederim, Diolch, Toda, Kiitos.

Apologies if I missed your first language out, but like I say, there’ve been a lot of you visiting.  But just let me know if I have and I’ll google it *wink*

Right, I’m off now. I’ve got things to do and I’m sure you have too. Plus, I’m going to spend Christmas with Daniel Craig…Mmmmmm *looks dreamily into space*. Well, not exactly with him, per seunfortunately – his wife and Hannah’s daddy may not approve!…come to think of it, Daniel might not be too pleased either! I’ve treated myself to a Christmas present of three DVD’s of him playing 007. I never get out to the cinema these days and given the watershed (and my early bed times – trust me, I need TONS of beauty sleep!), I’ve missed the films on the telly, so I’ll have to watch him on DVD instead when Hannah’s gone to bed. It’s a hard life! *mischievous sigh*.

But before I go, I’d like to wish you and yours a very sparkly Christmas (if you celebrate it) and a truly happy, healthy year.

Here’s hoping that the coming year is a good one for all of us!

Until next time

Much love

Annie (and Hannah, of course)   xoxo

 

This post is dedicated to you all.

 

Graphic courtesy of photofunia.com

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Two words…

  1. ‘Thank You’ Annie for sharing Hannah’s life with us 🙂 Hope She is feeling much better after Her bout of illness 🙂 xx

  2. Karen Macpherson says:

    And THANK YOU!!!!! You deserve thanking as much as anyone else….here’s to a fantastic 2016 for us all x

  3. dmcb1976 says:

    Thank you too. Always look forward to your blogs. Much love and Merry Christmas to you all.

  4. Thank you, Annie. I was very touched by your shout out. Glad it helped. We all need to care for and reach out to each other. This world will become an even better place.
    Happy holidays to you and Hannah! love, Barbara

    • It helped enormously Barbara, thank you! ❤ and you're right…if we all reached out to someone the world would be a much better place. Happy holidays! Hope you have a wonderful time. Love Annie (and Hannah) xx

Leave a Reply

